top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Washburn

Take a Step Back

Happy weekend! I’m so glad to be back!


I wanted to make this post to explain why I had to take that break and why I’m changing things.


I had to take the break because I realized that I was valuing my writing over learning about God. I found myself trying to tell y’all how to live your life, without taking the time to live mine that way.


I want to be living my life the way I expect others to, and because of that I had to take a step and really reflect on the way I was living. I now see how judgmental some of my previous posts were. I've also found that I can be a completely different person when I’m offline.


My goal now is to be the real me; not be who anyone else, but God and myself, expect me to be. The reality is I only have one shot at this life, so I want to live how I expect others to live.


The other reason for the break was so that I could focus more of my efforts towards my fiction writing and towards the Diamonds 2021 conference. My fiction writing is just as important to me as my nonfiction writing, but I realized I was neglecting it. I joined Diamonds because they look to help people, more specifically chronically ill teens, through Christ. Diamonds staff and speakers' passion for Christ and the messages they convey are the main reasons why I offered to help out in any way possible.


Overall, this month break really has helped me to just take a pause and get back into what my life dreams and goals are about.


I think we all need to spend a bit more time on the why behind our lives and get back to living as God expects us to. I suggest if you feel burnt out or are frustrated a lot, just take a break and reconsider. I know that you won’t be able to completely stop life, but stop the parts that you can and consider why you’ve taken on the tasks that you have.


This month helped me to get my priorities straight, which is why I think we should reflect as soon as life feels like it’s falling apart or sooner. God is putting the pieces together, you just may need to take a step back to see the whole picture.


The next thing I said I was going to explain is the change in the schedule. For now I’m not going to be explaining the indepth version, I’ll explain that next week on Instagram.


I’ve cut back on writing for this blog, because right now I need that time to work on other things, and I think y’all deserve more than me trying to whip something up in an hour.


The extra time that I have isn’t going to this or Instagram, but rather towards other areas of my life. Right now I’m focusing on balancing my life out, so this every other week schedule is helping me to do that instead of adding onto my plate.


I’d love to post more, but I don’t think that’s God’s plan for me right now. Between school, Diamonds, my fiction writing, a special project, Stuck In A Story and my health (spiritually and physically), I’ve become a little overstretched and it’s negatively impacting the people around me, the way I connect with y’all, and myself.


I hope you’ll hop over to Instagram, Stuck In A Story, and Diamonds on the weeks that I’m not posting on here so I can connect with you and you can meet the amazing people that I’ve had the pleasure of working with.


Blessings!

~Rebecca


Recent Posts

See All

To-do and Not To-do

Happy weekend! If you’re like me, you probably have hundreds of things on your to-do list. You’ve probably found yourself overwhelmingly busy just like last year and the year before. Christmastime ha

Control Syndrome

Happy weekend! I have a control problem. I want to be in control, but recently I came up with this question that reminds me that I shouldn’t want to be in control. Here’s the question: If you were i

See You In Prayer (Not At the Pole)

Happy weekend! This week was supposed to be when we had See You at the Pole, but due to COVID-19, we couldn’t participate in it, at least not in the usual way. Instead of praying in front of the scho

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page